Judiciary Hong Kong Judiciary Judiciary
Search
About Us

Introduction

    pdf version (304KB)

Hong Kong's courts and its judiciary

The Judiciary is responsible for the administration of justice in Hong Kong. It hears all prosecutions and civil disputes. It is completely independent of the executive and legislative branches of the Government.

 

What is the structure of Hong Kong courts?

The Court of Final Appeal is the highest appellate court in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. It has jurisdiction in respect of matters conferred on it by the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance, Cap. 484 and by any other law. It hears appeals on civil and criminal matters from the High Court (the Court of Appeal and the Court of First Instance).

The Court of Appeal hears appeals on all civil and criminal matters from the Court of First Instance and the District Court. It also hears appeals from Lands Tribunal and various Tribunals and Statutory Bodies.

The Court of First Instance has unlimited jurisdiction in both civil and criminal matters. It also hears appeals from Magistrates' Courts, the Small Claims Tribunal, the Obscene Articles Tribunal, the Labour Tribunal and the Minor Employment Claims Adjudication Board. For criminal trials, judges of the Court of First Instance sit with a jury of seven (nine on the special direction of the judge).

The District Court hears civil disputes of a value over $50,000 but not more than $1 million. Its criminal jurisdiction is limited to 7 years' imprisonment.

The Family Court deals mainly with divorce cases and related matters such as maintenance and the welfare of children.

There are 7 Magistrates' Courts. They exercise criminal jurisdiction over a wide range of indictable and summary offences meriting up to 2 years' imprisonment and a fine of $100,000. However the court may impose sentences of up to 3 years' imprisonment where there are two or more indictable offences being dealt with at the same time. Indeed under some Ordinances a single offence may carry 3 years' imprisonment and a fine of $5 million.

The Lands Tribunal has jurisdiction to determine applications by landlords for possession of premises under the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance, Cap. 7 or under the Common Law. The Tribunal also deals with cases arising from disputes in relation to building management. The Tribunal also hears applications for the determination of compensations caused by land resumption and payable by the Government because of public developments pursuant to the relevant ordinances, and determine appeals against the assessment of rateable value / government rent or market value of property under the Housing Ordinance. The Tribunal can determine applications made by majority owners of a land for the sale of the land for redevelopment purpose under the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance, Cap. 545.

The Labour Tribunal deals with labour disputes. There is no upper limit on the amount of claim, but the Tribunal only hears cases which the amount of claim exceeds $8,000 for at least one of the claimants in a claim or which the number of claimants in the claim exceeds 10. Hearings are informal and no legal representation is allowed.

The Small Claims Tribunal hears civil claims within its jurisdiction of up to $50,000. Hearings are informal and no representation by lawyers is allowed.

The Obscene Articles Tribunal determines and classifies whether or not an article or other matter publicly displayed is obscene or indecent.

The Coroner's Court conducts investigations and if necessary holds inquests into the deaths.

The Juvenile Court hears charges against children or young persons under the age of 16, except where the charge is one of homicide. It may also make care or protection orders in respect of children or juveniles. It sits in the Eastern, Kowloon City, Tsuen Wan, Fanling and Tuen Mun Magistrates' Courts.

 

Court Registries and enquiries

Each court has its own registry which is responsible for filing documents, listing cases for hearing, and providing support to judges and judicial officers. The addresses and enquiry telephone numbers of these registries can be found here.

 

Court Supporting Services

Bailiff Section

After you have obtained a court judgment for payment of money to you, you can apply for its enforcement by Court Bailiffs if the judgment is not complied with. The address of the Bailiff 's Offices can be found here.

 

Legal Reference and Library Section

The total collection of the Judiciary Library 184,000 volumes basically of common law materials housed mainly in the High Court Library, Court of Final Appeal Library and District Court Library. Many minor collections are located in the chambers, Magistrates' Courts and Tribunals. More than 61,000 volumes of books and serials are located in the High Court Library and about 8,000 and 10,000 volumes are respectively in the other two libraries at the Court of Final Appeal and the District Court. The Judiciary Library provides legal reference and information services, photocopying and other services to the judges, staff of the Judiciary, members of the legal profession and law students.

Application for the use of library facilities may be made to the High Court Library.

Opening Hours

High Court Library
Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays 9:00 a.m. to 12 noon

District Court Library
Mondays to Fridays 8:50 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays Closed

Court of Final Appeal Library
Mondays to Fridays 8:50 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Saturdays Closed

All libraries close on Sundays and public holidays.

Library card holders may use the High Court Library and the District Court Library. They may use the Court of Final Appeal Library on the days when their cases are being heard in the Court of Final Appeal.

Enquiry telephone numbers
High Court Library: 2825 4464
District Court Library: 2582 4062
Court of Final Appeal Library: 2123 0044

 

Court Language Section

The Court Language Section in the main provides interpreting services for those who are not conversant with Chinese or English in all court proceedings in Hong Kong. The Section is also responsible for certifying the translation of documents for use in court proceedings in Hong Kong. For such certification service, it is provided free for criminal cases, but a prescribed fee is charged for civil cases. The address of the Court Language Section can be found here.

(The Court Language Section provides certification service for the translation of documents/exhibits used in court proceedings in all levels of courts of the Hong Kong SAR. Certification guidelines and application form can be found here.)

 

Press and Public Relations Office

Apart from undertaking media related work, this office arranges visits to the Judiciary by local organisations and overseas visitors. It also prepares publications and produces videos that introduce the work and procedures of various courts and tribunals. Most of these publications are available free in court buildings. Contents of the publications and some videos are also uploaded on the Judiciary website . For details of visit arrangement, please contact the office.

 

General Enquiries

You can obtain general information or make enquiries about court services by calling hotline.

 

Back to Top
  
   Personal Information Collection Statement | Copyright and Disclaimer | Tech Note | Site Map | Search
 
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

香港司法機構 香港司法機構 香港司法機構
搜尋
關於司法機構

司 法 機 構 簡 介

     pdf 版本 (304KB)

香港特別行政區的法院及司法機構

司法機構負責本港的司法工作,聆訊一切檢控及民事訴訟,完全獨立於行政及立法機構。

 

香港特別行政區的法院架構是怎樣的?

終審法院是香港特別行政區最高的上訴法院,根據香港法例第484章《香港終審法院條例》及其他法例所賦予的權力,處理針對高等法院(上訴法庭及原訟法庭)的民事及刑事判決而作出的上訴及有關事項。

上訴法庭負責處理來自原訟法庭和區域法院民事、刑事案件的上訴,同時亦處理土地審裁處、各審裁處及其他法定組織的上訴。

原訟法庭對民事和刑事案件均有無限的司法管轄權。該法庭亦處理來自各級法院的上訴,包括裁判法院、小額錢債審裁處、淫褻物品審裁處、勞資審裁處及小額薪酬索償仲裁處。在刑事審訊中,原訟法庭法官與7人陪審團一起審理案件; 而在法官的特別指令下,陪審團的成員數目可增至9人。

區域法院處理涉及款項5萬港元以上、但不超過100萬港元的民事訴訟,而刑事案件中,區域法院法官的判刑上限是7年監禁。

家事法庭主要負責處理離婚及有關的事宜,包括贍養費及子女的福利等。

本港共有7所裁判法院,裁判法院的刑事司法審轄權非常廣泛,負責審理多種可公訴罪行及簡易程序罪行,判刑上限為監禁2年和罰款10萬港元。但是,當法庭同時處理兩項或以上的可公訴罪行時,裁判官可判處最高3年的刑期。就某些條例而言,單一罪行可判監3年和罰款500萬元。

土地審裁處有權力裁定業主根據 (香港法例第7章)《業主與租客(綜合)條例》或普通法而提出的收回樓宇管有權申請, 及審理有關建築物管理的爭議,審裁處亦有權力裁定政府因進行公共發展而根據有關條例強制收回土地而需評估賠償的申請,及審理差餉租值 / 地租值上訴和《房屋條例》涵蓋的處所的市值評估上訴。多數份數業主根據 (香港法例第545章)《土地(為重新發展而強制售賣)條例》為售賣土地重新發展而提出申請,審裁處有權力作出裁定。

勞資審裁處審理勞資糾紛,索償款額並無上限,但所處理的申索,必須是在同一申索中至少有一名申索人所追討的款項是超過港幣8,000元,或該申索涉及超過10名申索人。審裁處採用非正式的聆訊模式,訴訟雙方不得由律師代表。

小額錢債審裁處審理其享有司法管轄權之民事申索案件, 但款額不可超過港幣五萬元。這裡採用非正式的聆訊模式,而訴訟雙方不得由律師代表。

淫褻物品審裁處為物品或在公眾地方展示的其它事物鑑定類別,並且評定是否含淫褻或不雅成分。

死因裁判法庭負責調查死亡個案及如認為有需要的話,進行研訊。

少年法庭負責審理被控人為兒童或16歲以下的少年人的案件,但不包括殺人罪。此外,少年法庭也可為兒童或少年人發出照顧或保護令。該法庭分別設於東區、九龍城、荃灣、粉嶺及屯門裁判法院內。

 

法庭登記處及詢問處

各法院均設有登記處,負責文件存檔,排期審訊案件,並且為法官及司法人員提供協助。有關法院的地址及查詢電話,請按此處

 

法庭支援服務

執達事務組

如法庭裁定你應收回款項,但對方卻沒有遵從照付,便可申請由執達主任執行該項判令。執達主任辦事處的地址,請按此處

 

法律參考資料及圖書館組

司法機構圖書館約有館藏184,000冊,基本上都是普通法方面的資料,主要存放於高等法院圖書館、終審法院圖書館和區域法院圖書館內。另外於各內庭、裁判法院及審裁處還存有少量藏書。高等法院圖書館收藏了超過61,000冊書籍及期刊;終審法院圖書館及區域法院圖書館則分別收藏約8,000及10,000冊。司法機構圖書館提供法律參考及資訊服務、影印和其他服務予法官及司法人員、司法機構職員、法律專業人士和法律系學生。

如要使用圖書館設施,可向高等法院圖書館申請。

開放時間

高等法院圖書館
星期一、三、五 上午九時至下午五時半
星期二、四 上午九時至下午六時
星期六 上午九時至中午十二時

區域法院圖書館
星期一至五 上午八時五十分至下午六時
星期六 休息

終審法院圖書館
星期一至五 上午八時五十分至下午六時
星期六 休息

星期日及公眾假期,所有圖書館休息。

持有圖書證人士可使用高等法院和區域法院圖書館;也可在終審法院聆訊他們的案件期間使用終審法院圖書館。

查詢電話
高等法院圖書館:2825 4464
區域法院圖書館:2582 4062
終審法院圖書館:2123 0044

 

法庭語文組

法庭語文組的主要工作是為不諳中文或英文的人士在香港進行的各級法庭程序中提供傳譯服務,並負責核證供香港法庭聆訊使用的翻譯文件。刑事案件的譯文核證服務是免費的,而民事案件的譯文核證服務則須收取有關法例所訂明的費用。法庭語文組的地址,請按此處

(法庭語文組為香港特別行政區各級法院法庭程序中使用的文件/證物提供譯文核證服務。核證譯文之格式指引及申請表格可在這裏找到。)

 

新聞及公共關係組

除了處理與傳媒有關的工作外,新聞及公共關係組亦安排本地團體及外地訪客參觀司法機構。該小組同時印製小冊子及製作短片,介紹各法院、審裁處的工作和程序;大部份小冊子可於各法院大樓免費索取,小冊子的內容及部份短片亦已上載司法機構的網站。有關參觀的安排,請聯絡該組

 

一般查詢

查詢有關法庭服務的資料,可致電熱線

 

回頁首
  
   收集個人資料聲明 | 版權和免責聲明 | 技術設定 | 網頁指南 | 搜尋
 
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0